• Front Office

CEO and 14yr MLB Veteran, Gregg Olson Joins Board

Updated: May 5, 2018


Gregg Olson Donruss 1988 Rookie Card

The Foundation for Baseball is excited to announce that Gregg Olson, the 1989 American League Rookie of the Year, has joined our Executive Board. Olson, now the CEO and founder of Toolshed Sports International, brings both a player and business-mind to the table. Toolshed sliders are worn by 27 MLB teams and the US Mens Volleyball team.


Check out Gregg's 29 Unwritten Rules of Baseball from April 2018.


#MLB Professional career

Baltimore Orioles (1988-1993 #baltimoreorioles #orioles), Atlanta Braves (1994 #atlantabraves #braves), Cleveland Indians (1995 #clevelandindians #indians), Kansas City Royals (1995, 1997 #kansascityroyals #royals), Detroit Tigers (1996 #detroittigers, #tigers), Houston Astros (1996 #houstonastros, #astros), Minnesota Twins (1997 #minnesotatwins), Arizona Diamondbacks (1998–99 #arizonadiamondbacks #diamonbacks) and Los Angeles Dodgers (2000–01 #losangelesdodgers #dodgers).


Olson threw right-handed. Olson is the Orioles all-time Saves leader with 160 as the Orioles closer (#closer).


Olson came into save situations blowing people away with his 90-plus fastball and a devastating curveball known as "Uncle Charlie." (#unclecharlie #fastball #curveball) He was drafted by the Orioles (#orioles) in the 1st round (4th pick) of the 1988 amateur draft, and was given a $200,000 signing bonus before making his debut late in the season.



Gregg Olson's Fleer 1999 Baseball Card

In 1989, Olson became the first reliever to win the American League Rookie of the Year Award (#rookieoftheyear #americanleague). Olson also set an American League rookie record with 27 saves, and had a 5-2 mark with a 1.69 ERA, 90 strikeouts and 85 innings.


Selected to the All-Star team in 1990, Olson set a club record of 37 saves during the season and collected 31 and 36 in the next two years. (#record) On July 13, 1991, Olson combined with 3 other Baltimore pitchers in a no-hitter against the Oakland Athletics (#combinednohitter). 


In August 1993, Olson suffered a torn elbow ligament injury that sidelined him for the rest of the year. He finished with 29 saves and a career low 1.60 ERA. (from Wikipedia)

Cardinals Legacy Foundation for Baseball: College Exposure based on TALENT not pocketbook!
Our Board Knows Baseball

We have 40 years of MLB player experience; Two decades of minor league and college coaching; and the current Manager of NY Mets minor league St Lucie Mets.

OUR SERVICES

- ACT Prep

- Leadership Training

- Rules of Baseball Training

- Social Media Interaction

- Media Interview Training

- Baseball Skills Training

Mailing Address

Cardinals Legacy Foundation for Baseball

P.O. Box 71
Williamsville, MO 63967

CALL US

Tel: 573-778-6500 | Fax: 417-322-6020

EMAIL US
OPENING DAY

Thursday, May 28 at vs Tropics (TBD)

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

© #toTheEndOfTime by #CLF4B